Love in a cup

I’m never been a big “gift” person. In Chapman terms, giving and receiving gifts is not my main love language.

I’d much rather have someone spend an hour with me over coffee having genuine conversation, as I plan to do in an hour at McDonald’s with my friend Mary.

Or visit me at my house, and tell me how cute my pets are, and take a hike with me in the woods.

Or send me a card reminding me of the reasons we’re friends.

Or, if you like, give me a gift. But please, share some of yourself with me.

If you know me well, then you probably know that I love handmade, personalized, and antique objects. I like meaningful things. I’d rather receive an old copy of Amelia Bedelia from my mom who cleaned out her library than a brand new perfume set from Bath & Body Works. It’s just how I am, and I’ve always been that way. The thought and motivation matter more to me than the object itself.

James has figured this out, and he’s great at giving me quirky gifts which, admittedly, other women would probably turn their noses up at. He cleared an entire field out for me and planted crab apple trees for Valentine’s Day. I have a bowl full of odd objects he picks up for me when he’s out and about in the wilderness doing his job. Yesterday he surprised me by covering our yard with crimson clover seed because I’m enthralled with the way it looks every time we pass it by.

And then there’s our little flowery love cup which we keep refilling with bits of tiny flowers from the yard. There are new ones blooming daily, and there’s always something beautiful to bring inside to share with each other.

(Or the cookie jar directly behind the flowery love cup which I try to fill regularly with homemade oatmeal cookies, which is certainly more significant in James’ opinion.)

I’m grateful my cup is full these days and that I have the chance to fill up others’, too, whether it’s with flowers, hugs, prayers, homemade cookies, or phone calls. It’s not necessarily the cost of what I put in that matters; it’s just that I seek to fill it.

 

–For even more of my ramblings on love and gratitude, visit my personal blog.

2 Comments

Filed under gratitude, photography

2 responses to “Love in a cup

  1. You know my stance on gift giving, it’s all about the thought behind it, not the monetary value necessarily. Awesome thoughts here. I like the comment about how you’d rather have someone spend time with you than them give you some silly thing from bath and body works. When you think about it, “time” is the most precious commodity that one can give, because it’s something we can’t get back.

Leave a Reply

