Powerless

*Special thanks to my friend Debra Dickey for sharing her insights in today’s post.*

This is when we are lured to give up.  This is the time we want to quit.  This is the feeling that leads to defeat and sadness.  This is when our prayers become cries of despair.  This is the time we feel lost and abandoned.  This is the description of a cognizance, yet the thing we seek remains just out of our grasp.  We are exhausted, tired, broken, and struggling.

This is the time that temptations try us.  This is when we search for resources, answers, help, and strength, the time when our prayers are desperate, yet unfulfilled.  This is a test. This is the time that He is teaching us; that there is a lesson that He needs and desires us to learn.

I know that I am not all God wants me to be.  I acknowledge my spiritual and worldly weaknesses.  I recognize that my faithfulness, strength and obedience cannot compare to the courage displayed by Jesus.  I yearn for God’s Presence, His Wisdom, His Strength, His Mercy, His Care, and His Miracles.  What more is being asked of me?  What words do I use to pray?

I believe in God with every fiber of my being.  I continue to meet the challenges that God gives me, work through them, and seek His blessings.  I have offered myself as the vessel, I have walked my faith, I have put on the armor, I have toiled up the mountains, I have trudged through the valleys, I have praised God to the heights, and I have pleaded to Him from the depths.  Yet often I am fearful and my soul knows no comfort.

mustard seedI know His Word tells us that if we have faith the size of a mustard seed, that we can move mountains! (Matt. 17:20)  So I researched that.

And you know what! He actually says is, “if you had faith like or as a mustard seed.”  A type of faith, not an amount.  Jesus is saying that your faith should be like a mustard seed. That first, you have to sow it. You have to plant or sow your faith. Then, when you do, it will grow and grow and produce works in you that you never thought possible.  Jesus is speaking figuratively about the incalculable power of God when unleashed in the lives of those with true faith.  First, we know that the initial amount of faith is a gift from God.  Secondly, God gives all His gifts in seed form and He expects us to develop them.  Just plant the faith you have.  Because the results don’t depend on us, they depend on God.

A mustard seed is one of the smallest of seeds, yet the mustard plant grows to a remarkable size in comparison to the tiny seed, and will even grow abundantly in the most adverse conditions known to manIf your wilderness is fraught with woeful and grievous circumstances, then you’re living in the perfect environment for ‘faith as a grain of mustard seed’ to thrive!    ‘The bigger your giant, the closer you are to your promise.’  Mustard seeds need the same things other plants need to grow:  soil (your heart), air (Holy Spirit), water (Word of God), sunlight (Jesus), and one last thing…..time.   “Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.”  (Hebrews 11:1)  When you have done all that you can do, hold up your shield of faith. Believe.  God is good.  Period.  But only the mountains that God wants you to move.   [Mustard Seed Faith]mustard seed 2

“Now to him that is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or imagine, according to the power that worketh in us, to Him be the glory….”  (Ephesians 3:20)

I do get that!  My faith IS planted; I DO believe!  I pray unceasingly for the manifestation of His Power!  Be the seed — not powerless, rather imbued with the incalculable power of God.  Immense.   Say ‘yes’ to God’s ability.  It is the One that faith is directed towards that will make miracles happen.  I know that!  Yet, there it is, the theme in all my lessons . . . the “time” circumscription, the ‘harness’, if you will — the element in that process that I struggle with most in my walk of faith, and my beggarly pleadings.  Just be the seed.
I know God will not give me anything I can’t handle. I just wish that He didn’t trust me so much.  Mother Teresa

Leave a Reply

